Students and Professors Compete for Bragging Rights


Last week, The Beta Gamma Sigma honor society hosted their second annual “Are You Smarter Than A Bryant Professor”. According to President, Melissa Brigante (Senior), the purpose of hosting this event was to bring students and professors together to have fun while learning! “This event keeps our mission of honoring academic achievement, while also engaging the community!” It was a fun filled event ran by their executive board, consisting of  Tiffany Van Mahavong, Juliana Longo, Carolyn Downing, and Melissa Brigante. Their faculty advisor is Keith Murray. The MC of the event was Mr. Bryant himself, Austin Avanesian. The students who participated in the event included Alexandra Dickie, Jennifer Souza, Ryan Harris, and Juliana Houldcroft. The fan favorite professors, and the winners of the event, were Professors Richard Holtzman, Ron Washburn, Giovanna Donoyan, Jack Trifts. Similar to the show, “Are You Smarter than a Fifth Grader”, the contestants answered a wide variety of questions in front of a live audience. The event took place in the Fisher Student Center and consisted of questions that had to do with science, history, and pop culture.

The Beta Gamma Sigma honor society is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International (only 5% of schools AACSB accredited, must be in top 10% to be asked to join BGS). The Mission of the International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to cultivate and celebrate leadership and professional excellence, to advance the values of the Society, and to serve its lifelong members. President Brigante said that the event was a great success, and also wanted to point out that their newest class of BGS members will be inducted on April 1st!